Nationals Surf Life Saving

This week instead of going to camp in Arthurs Pass, my Dad, my brother and I went to 
the New Zealand champs for Surf Life Saving. I started surf lifesaving for 
South Brighton in 2018, but started doing competitions in 2019. This year so 
far I have done South Island champs, I think I did pretty well in that, 
winning a few things, so my parents signed me up for Nationals  in Mount Maunganui. 
Nationals runs over 4 days with up to 3 events each day, there were about 700 contestants 
covering the whole beach.

Only 12 competitors from my club came up to the comp. 
I got one medal coming 2nd in beach flags, beach flags is when competitors 
lie down in the sand, facing away from the flags. At the signal they get to their 
feet, turn and sprint to a flag placed in the sand. There are always fewer flags than 
competitors. Anyone who fails to gain a flag is eliminated until there is only 1 person 
left. In that event I managed to get my only medal. I was very proud of my results, 
I got into 5 finals. 

Overall out of 50 clubs South Brighton finished 6th.

This was a great experience and am looking forward to next year's Nationals.

Here are some pics,


 
 
  

2 thoughts on “Nationals Surf Life Saving

  1. Tena Koe Louis, Mr G here. While it was a shame you missed out on camp it looked like you had an amazing time up north. Your blog gives lots of details about your adventure. I can remember going to Otago for a Basketball comp when I was young. It might be better to mix your text and pics up. Is the sea your favourite place?

  2. Tena Koe Louis, Mr G here. While it was a shame you missed out on camp it looked like you had an amazing time up north. Your blog gives lots of details about your adventure. I can remember going to Otago for a Basketball comp when I was young. It might be better to mix your text and pics up. What is your best sport?